top of page

Using Chakras to Find Balance in Today's World

In the hustle and bustle of today’s world, more and more people are turning to yoga and meditation to find peace and balance in their lives (because we unfortunately can't always be at the beach). Chakras refer to the wheels/discs of energy throughout the body and are often part of the practice of meditation. The most commonly held Western belief is that there are 7 main chakras (located from the base of the spine to the top of the head) which are associated with specific physical, psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. Since we humans are living, breathing, dynamic creatures, it’s important for our health and wellness that our 7 chakras are open and aligned. If any of our chakras become blocked, energy cannot flow. It is believed that specific gemstones have the ability to conduct different types of energy which can be used to heal blocked chakras. In addition to gemstones, aromatherapy (the use of essential oils for healing) has also been associated with opening chakras.

*Here is a list of the 7 chakras, some of their associated gemstones, essential oils, and their healing connections:

1. Root (Muladhara) Chakra - Red

a. Location: Base of spine

b. Represents: Foundation of self, grounding energy, safety, survival

c. Gemstones: Red jasper, bloodstone, garnet

d. Essential Oils: Patchouli

2. Sacral (Svadhisthana) Chakra – Orange

a. Location: Sacrum

b. Represents: Emotions, openness, creativity, relationships, sexuality

c. Gemstones: Tigereye, sunstone

d. Essential Oils: Ylang ylang, sandalwood

3. Solar Plexus (Manipura) – Yellow

a. Location: Navel (belly button)

b. Represents: Personal power, anxiety, forming opinions

c. Gemstones: Yellow calcite, amber, citrine

d. Essential Oils: Cinnamon, peppermint

4. Heart (Anahata) – Green

a. Location: Chest (Breastbone)

b. Represents: Ability to love, connections (bridge between mind, body, and spirit)

c. Gemstones: Malachite, amazonite, jade

d. Essential oils: Rose

5. Throat (Vishuddha) – Blue

a. Location: Throat (thyroid)

b. Represents: Communication, growth via expression

c. Gemstones: Blue lace agate, aquamarine, turquoise

d. Essential oils: Eucalyptus

6. Third Eye (Anja) – Indigo

a. Location: Between the eyebrows

b. Represents: Awareness, inner guidance, intuition

c. Gemstones: Lapis lazuli, sodalite

d. Essential oils: Lavender

7. Crown (Sahaswara) – Purple

a. Location: Top of head

b. Represents: State of pure consciousness

c. Gemstones: Amethyst, crystal quartz

d. Essential oils: Frankincense

*Editorial note: As with most things these days, you will find differing opinions on the number of chakras, location, what they represent, and their associated gemstones and essential oils. This is not an inclusive list, just some information that I found when I was trying to learn more about chakras/gemstones/aromatherapy a few years ago. A word to the wise – read product descriptions and look at product images before purchasing chakra jewelry. For instance, howlite (which is also a gemstone) is frequently dyed to imitate turquoise. However, if you are looking for the energy properties of turquoise, you might be disappointed if you end up with dyed howlite. Not surprisingly, you also won’t get the energy you are expecting from resin or other man-made materials. Just make sure you are getting what you think you are. Some surprises are just not fun at all. And yes, this is experience speaking…

Our genuine gemstone aromatherapy bracelets are the perfect companion in your quest for balance. Buy yours today!

26 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page